CompTIA Security+ (plus) certification exam is a worldwide certification test that certifies the essential abilities required to execute key security responsibilities and enhance your IT security profession.

CompTIA Security+ is a hands-on practical skills certification that prepares security professionals to tackle a larger range of challenges. It should be the first security certification that IT workers get since it covers the foundational knowledge necessary for any cybersecurity function and acts as a stepping stone to intermediate-level cybersecurity roles. CompTIA Security+ certified cybersecurity specialists understand how to respond to security events, not just identify them.

SY0-601 CompTIA Security+: What's new in this edition?

Cybersecurity breaches are on the rise. More job positions are being assigned with baseline security preparation and response to handle today’s threats. Updates to Security+ reflect important skills for these career categories and equip applicants to be more proactive in avoiding the next assault. IT personnel must be able to do the following in order to resist these emerging threats:

  • Assist in identifying attacks and vulnerabilities so that they can be mitigated before they infiltrate IS.
  • Understand the concepts of secure virtualization, secure application deployment, and automation.
  • Determine and put in place the best protocols and encryption.
  • Recognize the significance of compliance


Exam Codes  SY0-501 SY0-601
Number of Questions 90 questions
Type of Questions Multiple choice and performance-based
Duration 90 minutes
Passing Marks 750 (on a scale of 100-900)
Available Languages English, Japanese, Portuguese and Simplified Chinese English, Japanese, Vietnamese, Thai, Portuguese
Testing Provider Pearson VUE
Cost $370 USD

Choose Your Preferred Learning Mode


Customized schedule Learn at your dedicated hour Instant clarification of doubt Guaranteed to run


Flexibility, Convenience & Time Saving More Effective Learning Cost Savings


Anytime – Across The Globe Hire A Trainer At Your Own Pace Customized Corporate Training

The Crucial Domain of the CISSP Certificate

The CompTIA Security+ SYO-601 certification exam has no prerequisites. However, it is recommended that you obtain CompTIA A+ or CompTIA network+ certification.

The CompTIA Security+ certificate is valid for three years from the date you pass the exam. Even if a candidate passes the Security+ Exam just before the exam’s retirement, his certificate is valid for three years.

CompTIA security+ requires a passing score of 750. (on a scale of 100-900).

To put your problem-solving skills to the test, the CompTIA Security+ (SY0-601) exam includes performance-based multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and drag-and-drop activities. The multiple-choice questions could have both single- and multiple-response options.

The CompTIA Security+ (SY0-601) certification has a three-year validity period. Through CompTIA’s continuing education (CE) program, the certificate can be renewed and extended for another three years.


    Book Your Demo

    Frequently Asked Questions

    You will be certified for three years from the date of certification issued by ISC2. A CISSP certified professional can maintain and renew their certification by obtaining 120 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits before the expiry of the certificate OR by scheduling your CISSP examination at the end of your 3rd year. 120 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits need to be obtained as 40 each year. One has to also pay an yearly fee of USD 125 every year.

    No, the course fee is excluded from exam fee, but you can directly go-through ISC2 authorized PPC or through Pearson Vue.
    Anybody who wants to gain knowledge of widely-recognized CISSP information security standards or ideal for CIOs, Security consultants, Network Architects, Security Architects, Security Auditors, Security Managers, Security Analysts and who is looking to clear their CISSP certification exam.

    Yes, Now-a-days Certified professionals are being considered by the companies to take charge of protecting data from outlawed access. The clearance of mandatory exam is required to provide cybersecurity certifications and demand for skilled cyber security professionals is high. A prime importance is held by these certifications in an individual’s profession.

    As the (ISC)2 announced an update for the CISSP exam, the exam will be bases on a refresh exam outline. The number of the domains for the CISSP exam remains eight, and the names of those domains are unchanged. However, two of the domain weights are updating. From the Domain 4: Communication and Network Security is decreasing in weight from 14% to 13% and Domain 8: Software Development Security is increasing in weight from 10% to 11% , but if you want to know more.

    Prepare for the CompTIA Security+ Certification exam with this study guide, practice test, exam details, course outline and preparation tips

    Click to read in detail.